9 Ajaw 13 Sek (July 3, 2018): A Resounding Success! The Fourth International Congreso on Ancient Maya Writing

9 Ajaw 13 Sek. Drawing by Jorge Pérez de Lara.

Dear MAM Supporters,

Thank you all for your incredible support to help make the Fourth International Congreso on Ancient Maya Writing a great success!!

I am deeply humbled by your generosity, and your willingness to help return the Maya Hieroglyphic Script, the Ojer Maya Tz’ib’, to the Maya people. It was wonderful seeing so many familiar faces, and so many new ones in Huehuetenango, and I was honored to be a part of this historic event. In the beginner’s workshop, Christopher Powell and I were able to teach many people to read and write the Long Count, including the entire Lunar Series. To see the dedication and gratitude among so many Maya people is something I will never forget. The pride and artistry among these new scribes is immeasurable. They have all joined the ranks of the Aj Tziib’.

Thank you to Barbara MacLeod, Nick Hopkins, Christopher Powell and Gerardo Aldana for helping with the workshops and presentations, and thanks to Elaine and David Schele for all of their help and support, and for documenting this event with photos!

Special thanks to the Mam people, who hosted us in their homeland and graced us with their beautiful marimba music, to our host, Director Manrique Díaz from Rafael Landivar University, to the Proyecto Lingüistico Francisco Marroquin team, and the Academia de las Lenguas Mayas de Guatemala. Lastly, thanks to our donors Kelly and William Warren for joining us at the Congreso. It was truly an unforgettable experience for us all.

The following is the inaugural address I prepared for the opening ceremonies, which took place on July 2, 2018.

Thank you for your tireless support, and for your understanding the great value of our collective work.

Chjontexix, Maltyox, and Yum Bo’otik,
Michael J. Grofe, President

Inaugural Address
Michael J. Grofe, President

July 2, 2018

Thank you to our gracious hosts, and to the organizers of this historic event. Thanks to the PLFM Team, to:

Saqijix Lopez Ixcoy
Beatriz Par Sapóm
Ajpub’ Garcia Ixmata
Juan Guarchaj Tzep
Hector Rolando Xol

I would like to thank all of the participants who have traveled from near and far to gather here to learn and to teach. Continue reading

Posted in New